Frequently Asked Questions

  1. What is the DAISY Award?
    The DAISY Award is an international award for nurses who have provided compassionate and extraordinary care. It was founded by the Barnes family in 1999 to honor the nurses who cared for their son Patrick, who died at the age of 33 from the auto-immune disease ITP (Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura). 
    To date, 65,000 nurses have been honored worldwide, and 700,000 have been nominated. The award honors nurses in over 2,100 healthcare facilities around the globe. It is supported by international nursing organizations such as Sigma Theta Tau International, AACN, ANCC and AORN just to mention a few.

  2. What does DAISY stand for?
    Diseases Attacking the Immune System. 

  3. Who can nominate a nurse?
    EVERYONE! Patients, families, co-workers. Nominations are submitted using the official nomination form. Tell us the story! What is exceptional about the nurse you are nominating?

  4. How often is a winner announced?
    Every month!

  5. When will we have our first winner?
    September 2016

  6. Where do we submit nominations?
    Nomination forms may be submitted at Bethesda Hospital East or Bethesda Hospital West in the lobbies, Human Resources, Bethesda Heart Hospital, as well as the Ambulatory Surgery Center at Bethesda Hospital East. Nomination forms may also be submitted on the Bethesda Intranet and at

Look for a DAISY Award Blooming Near You Soon!