The DAISY Award

The DAISY Award is an international award for nurses who have provided compassionate and extraordinary care. It was founded by the Barnes family in 1999 to honor the nurses who cared for their son Patrick, who died at the age of 33 from the auto-immune disease ITP (Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura). DAISY stands for Diseases Attacking the Immune System.

To date, 65,000 nurses have been honored worldwide, and 700,000 have been nominated. The award honors nurses in over 2,100 healthcare facilities around the globe. It is supported by international nursing organizations such as Sigma Theta Tau International, AACN, ANCC and AORN just to mention a few. For more information about the DAISY Award, visit

DAISY Award honorees personify Bethesda's remarkable patient experience. These nurses consistently demonstrate excellence through their clinical expertise and extraordinary compassionate care. They are recognized as outstanding role models in our nursing community.

Anyone can nominate a Bethesda nurse including: co-workers, physicians, patients or even family members of patients. Nomination forms for the DAISY Award are available at Bethesda Hospital East or Bethesda Hospital West in the lobbies, Human Resources, Bethesda Heart Hospital, as well as the Ambulatory Surgery Center at Bethesda Hospital East. You may also submit your nomination below or click here to download the form.

Thank a Nurse Today!

Nominate a deserving Bethesda nurse for the DAISY Award! 

Nominee Information


Nomination Criteria

Please check the boxes that best describe the extraordinary nurse you are nominating.
(0 / 7500)

Additional Information

Thank you for taking the time to nominate an extraordinary nurse for this award. In the event that your nurse is selected for the DAISY award, please let us know how we may contact you so that we may invite you to our DAISY celebration.

I am (please check one):